Just Like Popeye

I’ve been getting the Everyday with Rachael Ray magazine for over a year now and besides that one month that was “ode to BBQ” i totally dig this magazine and all of it’s fabulousness. She features a fair amount of veggie options or recipes that I can easily alter to fit my picky standards.

I have a few favorites that have made their way into our weekly routine, both healthy and wallet friendly (thanks Rach!), but tonights din din has seriously made my number one list. It’s so good I HAD to share it with you peeps.

Roast Mushrooms and Kale over Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Serves 4 main dishes or 8 sides

2 pounds mushrooms ( i used white although you can get as fancy as you want)
3 cloves garlic thinly sliced
A few sprigs thyme
Evoo
Salt and pepper
5 medium sweet potatoes peeled and cut 1/2 inch thick slices
1/2 c veggie or chicken stock
1/2 c milk or half and half
1 teaspoon paprika (best spice!)
Few dashes of you fav hot sauce ( I luv tapitio)
1 1/2 c shredded cheddar ( I used the Mexican blend we had on hand)
1 pound ( I bought one big bunch) of kale stemmed and chopped
Grated nutmeg ( I didn’t use bc we didn’t have any)

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. On a large baking sheet dress the mushrooms with garlic and thyme with 1/4 c evoo and spread out. Roast the mushrooms for 20 minutes and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Meanwhile, in a pot, combine sweet potatoes And enough water to cover. Bring to a boil and cook under fork tender. Drain and mash with the stock and milk. Season with salt, pepper, hot sauce, and paprika. Stir in cheese.

While the potatoes are working their magic, in a bowl toss kale with some evoo and season with s&p. Roast until edges turn brown- 10 to 12 minutes.

Combine mushrooms, garlic, and kale. Serve on a bed of sweet potatoes.

I wasn’t sure how it would all turn out but this dinner was a head turner and filled up our bellies on this chilly November Sunday. One of the best parts (who am I kidding all of the parts are awesome!) was the fact that this meal was seriously under 10 bucks (over 5 by def less than 10 especially since I used ingredients I’m going to use for other meals this week) to make and we have leftovers for two days worth of lunches. Totally thinking about bringing this to Thanksgiving dinner or over the holidays when we are back in Cali. Nom. Nom.

 

Your mouth and belly will thank me later!

Leave a Reply

