Weekend Away

One of Jake’s all time favorite things to do is to go camping. He’s been doing it all his life and is always trying to plan a weekend away breathing in the fresh air, eating s’mores, and fishing. I wouldn’t call myself a professional by any means, so I know that I’m in good hands when it comes to Jake planning our camping trips.

Finding a place to go has been on our short list of things to do since we’ve moved and the long Thanksgiving weekend was reason enough for us to take advantage of the time, take a long drive, and pitch our tent. We were originally going to spend Thanksgiving eve camping since we didn’t think that we would have any plans being away from family, but had to reschedule since we had some pretty awesome people offer up some turkey and football.

We dropped off the little man, drove an hour or so east, and stumbled upon an area that looked a lot like California.

Cue Bastrop State Park.

We hiked, ate sinful camping food, read by the fire, and enjoyed our last few days “off” before getting back into the swing of things. I’d like to thank my awesome hubster for making the most comfortable camping bed I’ve ever slept on. SO WARM and COZY!

The fall foliage made for some beautiful pictures, although they never seem to do it justice.

i love this man and his cute backpack. : )

not afraid to ask for directions

kinda reminds me of winter camp. bet they have icky scratchy sheets inside.

a man in his element

why hello!

I’d say this trip was a success…even though it was a bit chilly at night. So I think this will be our last camping trip this season. There are some really amazing places that we are looking to check out in the spring when Texas wildflowers start blooming.

So for now we’ll look forward to some tree lighting and a visit from Jake’s uncle. You guys…only 3 more weeks until we come home! Get excited.

One thought on “Weekend Away

  1. Amy Carter says:

    I’ve been really digging camping lately because I feel like it is the only time I can really “unplug” without being tempted to check the crackberry. Beautiful place you found!

Leave a Reply

