Why Hello Old Friend!

It’s been awhile. Looking back through my old posts I realized that ALOT has happened since. And it’s not that I haven’t wanted to post, uh I just…hmm not quite sure. Take that back, life has gotten a bit hectic since this past February.

So let’s back track for all you followers of this blog (Bueller? Anyone…anyone?). Since February and our snow day I’ve had the chance to surprise my bff Lizzie for her 30th in California, been told that my teaching contract will not be renewed, moved to a different part of town and into a house (post on that to come), and most recently found out that we are excpecting our first child. A whole lotta stuff in that mix there for ya!

Where to start with all of that? Let’s go with the job thing. Long story short, due to budget cuts my positon, along with 200 other probationary teachers, was cut. Although it had nothing to do with my performance it was a hard pill to swallow in the beginning. I was sad, hurt, and angry. I couldn’t wrap my head around the idea that I was put into the same category as brand new teachers. No offense to those new to profession, but with almost 5 years under my professional belt I didn’t think that quite worked out. Since that time (I believe it was late March when we were told) I’m definitely in a much better and understanding place. Does that mean I wish that I wasn’t put in this situation? Not quite, but I can understand that this experience has given me the opportunity to try something new. This is something that I’ve been toying with over the last 8 months or so anyways. And although I would have loved to leave on my own terms, I’m now OK with the cards that have been dealt and am grateful to have met such amazing people at my school and worked in an enviornment that was lots of work but more importantly LOADS of fun. It gave me a new found confidence I lost while working at AGBU and allowed me to make some really great friends during our first year here in Austin. What’s next you ask? Not quite sure yet but I am happy to step away from the classroom, share and sell my teacher collections (if you’re a teacher you know what these are) and get to work with adults on a full time basis. At the present, I’m trying to manifest something with curriculum development/education related. Fortunately we have the luxery of getting paid throughout the summer so the pressure isn’t too high right now. But the planner in me has been actively applying and interviewing throughout this whole process. Hoping to bring good news and celebrations on this subject shortly.

House. Oh how I love thee! This will be a whole post in itself but let me just say that I am completely grateful every morning when I wake up and feel like the timing couldn’t have been better.

Stay tuned for a more detailed post and pictures of the house. Although it’s not complete in the slightest and will probably remain a work in progress for some time now that we have a little guy/gal on the way I really want to show you what makes me smille every morning.

Apparently this brings up to baby (what you’ve all be waiting for right?). Jake and I have been talking about starting a family but were by no means trying to planning anything of sorts. We knew that with Jake’s new job the idea of baby was something we were more comfortable with, however, weren’t quite ready to commit to something. Heck, with his new job and traveling coupled with last minute change of moving plans I don’t think we could even mentally put that on the calendar. This doesn’t mean we were elated by the fact that the Vance family will be growing by one. It was just a surprise, but we are so very grateful for this new addition. 

Here’s the story.

My brother and sister in-law, Adam and Lizzie, came to visit us during the last week of April. This was mid-move planning and looking for a job time for me but we dropped everything to get to spend time with some of our favorite people in the whole wide world. I was late but didn’t think too much about it since I’ve been late before when things in life were stressful. Lizzie urged me to take a test asap and late Friday afternoon I did. Negative. I didn’t really feel much at the result and took it as the go ahead to have some drinks over the weekend and relax with family. Fast forward to Sunday day when I started feeling nauseus mid meal. Of coarse the thought crossed my mind and I made a mental note to take a test that evening. With Adam and Lizzie’s last night in town I sort of skated the issue and enjoyed diiner (yes nauseaus again) and some dessert on Lake Austin. Once we got home I took another test (oh why didn’t I take two to begin with?) and it came back positive right away. Kinda freaking out, I made Jake go to the store and get more tests to make sure. And yes my friends they all said that I was pregant. I don’t think we quite got over the shock of things for a few days. I don’t even think I registered it really “real” until, like clock work, I started getting sick every morning and completely exhasusted every day. Oh yes ladies and gents, this lady was preggers.

Since we’ve found out we’ve slowly been telling close family and friends (aren’t you supposed to wait until you’re 3 months or something? opps.) about the news and feel so loved and comforted by the support and excitement we’ve received from everyone. It’s definitely hard not being in California around our loved ones and also understand that it will be even harder once the new Vance make his way into the world. Either way, we know that we’ll make it work. Here’s to frequent trips home (fingers crossed), a visit to California this summer, and a tropical “Babymoon” vacation late August….oh and did we mention that this Christmas Santa will be bringing something extra special down the chimeny? Yes, my due date is for Christmas Day. We are bummed that we can’t make a trip home for the holidays this year and are keeping our fingers and toes crossed that something will work out for family to come out for Thanksgiving.

And since I’m not waking up every morning feeling like I got run over by a truck, I’m planning on doing some “fruit” posts thanks to a little inspiration, or down right copying {ahem}, from these two sites. Here and here.

martini anyone?

This weekend we’ll be 9 week along, the size of a green olive and on our way to a prune. I plan on starting our “fruit” posts this weekend since we’re settled in the house and the preggo thing is . I know there’s not much (if anything) to show but I think it will make a cool montage as we work our way through this pregnancy thing.

Oh, and  my three readers? Thanks for following. I love you.

3 thoughts on “Why Hello Old Friend!

  1. AmyC83 says:

    I love you too! Congrats again!!!! Sooooo happy for you guys and can’t wait to meet the little one!

  2. LizzieVance says:

    eoshf;idksnghf ;aouedt9pg aye4 th~~~~~~~~~~~~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVE YOU TOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  3. Michelle says:

    Congrats to both you!!!!!!!!!!!! What an awesome Christmas present. Xoxo.

Leave a Reply

