Room Reveal

I have finally {oh ya finally!} gotten my placenta head together and taken some pictures of Baby V’s room.

Ladies and Gents (?) here goes…

In case you forgot what the room looked like before,

20111123-125710.jpg

…hideous curtains but neutral paint color and nice baseboards. I knew I didn’t want to paint the room since we are renting but of coarse the curtains had to go. With a great blank slate, I took my inspiration for the room from this photo I found in a baby/parenting magazine:

20111123-130626.jpg

I love the eclectic, gender neutral vibe and knew that I could find some great pieces at my fav vintage stores.

20111123-130827.jpg

I started with the zebra rug. I knew it was going to be a bigger expense for something of quality so I spent a lot of time online looking for a good deal. After a few weeks I found one online at overstock.com. With $2 shipping and a large wool rug well under $200 I couldn’t say no.

Shelves are from idea {missing books because the Mr. needs to secure the shelves to hold more weight}. ABC letters are made from cardboard. I bought them at a local craft store and painted them. Once the shelves are secured I’ll fill them with the books people brought to our shower and a few other family mementos. I want to add a bunch of comfy pillows below the shelves so we can throw them around the room and create a cozy floor space.

Next up is the rocking chair/reading nook…

20111123-131638.jpg

The rocking chair I got at my favorite thrift store for 20 bucks. It’s cane and real wood in perfect condition. Such a great find! A few photo frames on the wall will soon be filled with pictures of family. The end table I took from our living room and switched it out with the other table that was in the “before” picture. I put a few odds and ends {family photo and other keepsakes} along with a modern lamp on the table. When I gave you all a “sneak peak” awhile back I had a different lamp but ended up returning it because of the heavier price tag. I’m looking forward to rocking our sweet babe here and reading to him/her.

20111123-132307.jpg

Yes that’s a turquoise crib you see. This was my second purchase foe the room. Again, I wanted something different. I found this on craigslist from a lady who pretty much gave it away. She had it custom made for her daughter and after checking online for safety, etc. I made the drive {about 45 mins away} and picked it up. A swallow mobile hangs above the crib along with the modern canvas piece. I was going to go with a frame collage but liked this bold piece and felt that it would be great piece to grow with as our little one gets older.

Lastly, the changing table area.

20111123-133145.jpg

I debated over getting a dresser or a changing table. But since the room has two huge closets with shelving I decides it would be a waste for the time being. I found the changing table on Craigslist {again} and put Jake to work with some gray paint. I added a collection of baskets I picked up at Homegoods and added some labels for diapers, wipes, and other baby needs. I Lennon quote and bought it towards the beginning of summer not quite sure where I would put it at first. Fits nicely above the hanging table though!

Closet is organized and full of oh-so-sweet onsies waiting for our little critter to fill them! I just got a list of some things to get to prep for the home birth ,but other than that we are good to go if Baby V decides to arrive early. Taking the rest of the week to be lazy, sleep {in between multiple wake ups at night}, and quality time with Jake. I’m definitely feeling ready to get the show on the road, but trying to remember to enjoy the last few weeks before I’m officially called “Mom”. 😉

3 thoughts on “Room Reveal

  1. amyc83 says:

    So cute! I adore that crib!! I want to paint ours a fun color, but I don’t think Mike can handle any more sanding and painting after the wall he project he’s suffering through. Yay! So exciting!!

  2. Angie says:

    Love, love, love the nursery! Especially the crib!! Thanks for sharing with us… Baby V will be very happy in his or her little room 🙂

Leave a Reply

