A Letter


Dear Baby V,

In a few short weeks you’ll decide to make your entrance into our world. With the holidays upon us, your dad and I are anxiously awaiting your upcoming birth day wondering if you’re more like you mama (on time, if not always early) or just like dad (a tad late most days). Whoever you take after, we just want you to know that we’ve carefully been planning your arrival into our cozy home. We love our home and couldn’t imagine bringing you into the world any other way. Your great grandma (on your mom’s side) always told me that having your grandpa at home was the best experience she’s ever had so we’ve taken a lot of time to prepare for you too. Your mom never thought she would be having her own little bundle, let alone be having a homebirth. Dad and I wanted to make sure that we were well prepared to care for our sweet baby so we’ve taken classes, read stacks of books, and gotten advice from our dearest family and friends. Although we still have lots to learn about you {and being a mom and dad} once we meet, know that above all you are already loved unconditionally. We’ve watched you grow inside my belly and tracked your many changes week by week.

I’ve been imagining your birth day for some time now and look most forward to the moment when we first lay eyes on one another and I get to hold you inside my arms. You will be welcomed with two big goofy grins, a cupcake, and a special coin. Although we know you will probably be quite tired and hungry, dad and I wanted to make a big celebration of your birth day. You see, your mom is something of a planner. I get that from your grandpa, but it serves our family well I promise. She loves shopping at thrift stores, hiking, yoga, and cooking new recipes for dad to try. Multi-tasking is something that I’m also good at. I think you might benefit from this the most as I try to learn what mommyhood is all about. You’ll find out soon enough, but dad is something pretty special too. He has an energy that will keep you busy for hours (or as long as you can stay awake) and a passion for knowledge he is always willing to share. He loves chocolate chip cookies, planning vacations, sleeping in on the weekends, and a good lasagna recipe {not necessarily in that order}. And I know he is really looking forward to taking you camping, watching sports, running around Town Lake, and showing you off to our family and friends. He might not know how many times to expect to change your diaper in the beginning, but he’s a quick leaner I promise. He is loving and takes really good care of your mom- you are definitely lucky to have him as a dad.

Although we are counting down the days, I know that there are things that I will miss about being pregnant. I think I’ll miss our special alone time together baby. You know the times when you couldn’t stop tap dancing on my belly {you’re doing it now as I write this letter to you!} because you loved that chocolate shake that we had after dinner, or the mornings we woke up extra early to take your silly animal brother Stewart out for walks before your mom started her oh-so busy day in the classroom. I’ll probably also miss the weekend mornings I spent stretching during prenatal yoga. I’ve loved the time spent with other mamas to be, giving each other loving support as we continued on our journeys. As you grew you gave your mom little room to breath, but funny enough I loved knowing that you were always by my side. Lastly, I think I’ll miss those foot rubs that your dad gave me each night when we finally sat down on the couch together- I know you liked them too since they made me sit down and relax and then you could totally go at your exercises for the day.

You have lots of family and friends who can’t wait to meet you baby! So take these next few weeks and get plenty of rest because you will be quite the talk of town (both Austin and California!). Mom and dad love you more than {mint chocolate chip} ice cream.

Love,

Your Mom

Leave a Reply

