Extra Clean

I’m on my 4th bath in 2 days, not to mention the shower I’ve taken in between too. Although it has been awfully chilly here, I’ve been holed up in the tub because of some pre labor symptoms.

Yesterday I was sent home from work early because my blood pressure was really high. I was having a great morning (lessons went well, kids were awesome and on task) until about 10am. At that point I started feeling kind of “off”. So I ate something, drank water, and sat down while working with a small group of kids. Luckily the kids go to specials around 10:30 so my coteacher said she would take them and I could just go straight off to our meeting. I let my coach know I wasn’t feeling good and she said I didnt look quite myself either. She suggested I call Jake to let him know just in case I needed to leave or something. Well, about an hour into our meeting (and snacking in between) some of the teachers started getting worried about me because I was still not looking well and was starting to get flushed.

Enter a trip to the nurses office. At this point I knew something wasn’t right and when the nurse took my blood pressure (it was very high, like 138/110) she said I needed to lay down until she took my blood pressure again. Ten minutes later she took it again, and although it was lower it was still higher than normal. Coupled with the fact that I’ve been having lots of cramping and lower back pain, the principal said she wouldn’t let me go back into the classroom for the day and I needed to have someone drive me home. I also called my midwife to let her know and she said it was a good idea that I take the rest of the day off and rest. She also suggested a hot bath, some exercises I’ve been practicing for back labor, and some food.

Jake was tied up until 2 so my principal took me home. Once I got home it really set in that baby was starting to make his/her way and that I probably wouldn’t be making my 25th due date. Listening to her orders, I took a bath, ate and relaxed the rest of the day. Nothing got worse which was great, but I was still cramping and having back pain by the evening so I called my midwife again to let her know how I was feeling. She said to drink a half a half of a glass of wine to ease the muscles, to take the next day off of work to rest, and call her in the morning to let her know how I was feeling.

Happy to report that I slept really well last night (like over 10 hours!) and I’ve just been hanging out on the couch or in the tub. Jake and I will be going to see Julia this afternoon for my weekly checkup too. Not sure what this means from here (although baby has dropped quite low) but it definitely looks like we are well on our way to making our family of 3 (hey my animal son counts!) to 4 quite soon….and I have to admit I’m totally excited and ready! I think Jake might be a bit more nervous than I am but I’m sure those roles will flip flop a lot throughout the labor/birthing process.

Will be keeping families posted once we “officially” are on our way to meet Baby V!

2 thoughts on “Extra Clean

  1. Angie says:

    WOW!! You have had quite an eventful few days. I am glad to hear that you are feeling better and that you followed the recommendations to STAY HOME! Please keep us informed about how you are feeling and your progress. We are thinking about you and sending positive energy from the west coast. XoXo

  2. lizziekvance says:

    I can’t wait until BABY V comes! I am getting so ‘sited for you!! and still, LIFE WILL NOT EVER BE THE SAME! In the very best of ways.

    What an exciting time! I’m just so glad you made yourself blog through this so that you’ll have this to look back on.

    I love you sister!
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

