Two Months

20120228-083702.jpg

muCh better photo session this month!!

I can’t believe the difference a month makes.

….we dealt with what we think was reflux. My oh my how terrible that week was!!! I literally had to sleep sitting straight up in bed before it would calm Londyn and allow him to go to sleep. Of coarse that meant no sleep for mama. One night was manageable- Eck who am I kidding I was horrible! We researched ways to help make the situation better and ended up finding a few things that started to make nights much better:

1. No more Swaddle- can’t believe I’m saying that! Although people said it helps their little one, Londyn simply started to hate it every time we got him in one. This surprised me he most since we literally lived by this thing the first month. We always had to have a clean one, and god forbid there wasn’t one in the middle of the night when all you wanted was a few hours of sleep.

2. Sleep at an angle/incline. I looked into some expensive wedge type thing but there was no way I was willing to shell out 60 bucks before we tried some other methods first. A friend suggested we try his car seat. Made sense since he napped in it during the day while I was running errands.

3. My diet. I had to write down everything I ate so we could see if there was something related to the reflux. I had been eating a lot of dairy (mostly cheese) so I cut that out and just like magic he started sleeping MUCH better through the night!!!

I told our midwife about it and she didn’t think that it was true reflux, but whatever it was I am so grateful we found a solution rather quickly. That week was long enough for me! You’re so tired but frustrated that nothing is working. It made for miserable days and nights- not something I wanted to associate to staying at home. It was during this week that I was glad to be getting back to work to have some relief. I seriously don’t know how colicky parents do it! **I’ve since decided to stay home until midMarch

…he loves his minigym. I never even thought to register for one and a friend thankfully gave us hers. This has replaced his morning swing time abs totally cracks me up to see him flail his arms and legs to make the objects
swing/move.

…he’s getting great at tracking his mama around the room. Can’t let that boob out of his sight?!

…speaking of which, we’ve got nursing down pact these days. believe it or not it’s one of my favorite times of the day. I love seeing how excited he gets right before and how he nuzzles up to me to find a spot that feels just right. He plays with his toes and gently rests his hand on my chest. With eyes open (during the day) or closed (first thing in the morning or right before a nap) he always lays back to stretch and yawn once he’s full. Always. And it’s sweet and hysterical at the same time.

…what a nosy little man too! He only likes hanging out in the sling if he can see what’s going on, needs to see above my shoulder, and loves to walk around the house with me while I’m doing chores. We’ve really upped tummy time and this boy is determined to see the world no matter what position he’s in.

…we’ve gotten several 3 hours spurts of sleep at night making both mom and dad pleased for the little extra shut eye and/or alone time. Yet at the same time this makes me sad, why?

… The smiles abound here! I LOVE how he smiles when he looks at me. Making him smile is pretty easy too. I could stare and snap photos of this all of the time. Oh wait I already do!

… 3 month clothing? What??? Gone are the days of newborn stuff and apparently he quickly skated past 0-3 month attire. Besides his white onsies (by far my favorite thing on him!) he’s probably worn many an outfit only once before it is too tight. Future mamas out there do NOT buy clothes, such a waste (although super cute!!). I often have to remind myself of this and hold off buying anything for L. Except I “splurged” at Old Navy and bought him dino pjs that were on sale for 2 bucks. I make him wear these every chance I get!

…we’ve basically stopped cosleeping, unless its in the wee hours of the morning and I’m too lazy to put him back into bed- usually around 6. Londyn sleeps on the bassinet at the end of our bed because he’s so noisy! He grunts and wimpers so loud it wakes me up between feedings so we had to do something about that. Morning cuddles are always a must though!!

…after he nurses he falls back on my lap with arms stretched out into the air like he’s just had a huge thanksgiving meal and needs to sleep off the meal. Cracks me up every. Single. Time.

…oh how I heart Londyn in footsie pjs. Looks like a little boy who I can’t get enough cozy time with.

…not as big a fan of the swing in the mornings but those are still my favorite time of the day. Sleepy eyed, we snuggle up together on the couch next to the big windows in the living room.

…this kid LOVES to get his diaper change and could hang out on his changing table table forever. Really?! I guess it’s kind if like the fact that kids usually have more fun with the wrapping paper and boxes on Xmas day.

…several nicknames have emerged this month: L, Lovebug (my fav), Londy, Little L (Jake’s fav), Little Man, Bubba and Buddy

…bathtime is now dad’s favorite. Since he doesn’t really get much time with him Jake enjoys coming home from work and getting some quality time in with his boy. This includes an almost nightly bath (or cuddle session on the nights and bottle before it’s time to go to bed

We go to his first well check appointment with a pedi in a week and I’m curious how it will all go. So far I like the pedi we’ve chosen even though he’s a bit of a drive by Austin standards. After much research and discussion lately (as well as over the past few months) we’ve decided against vaccines for the time being. I know that we will get some pressure at the office visit (we are aware that no Dr. is ever really going to support no vaccines at all) so I am glad the Jake I taking off that morning to be there to help support out decision. We’ve also been looking for a homeopath/naturalpath doctor in the area to have on hand as another resource for L whenever he gets sick. I’m sure people are going to have different opinions about our choice, but like a homebirth, this is something that feels right to us. We’ve done a lot of research and coming to this decision has not been an easy one. We’ve gone back and forth between several options, careful to look at everything we could in order to best care for our son.

This is also the last month I get to stay home with Londyn. 😦
Im going to be making the most of our time together soaking up the cozy mornings and tummy time in the afternoons. I know I do want to go back to work, but feel torn about leaving him since I’m going go be missing so much of his day. We get to meet his teacher next week as well and being on the other side of things for once feels so weird. I mean what do you ask a daycare teacher??

Leave a Reply

